National Anthem

The song Jana-gana-mana, composed by Rabindranath Tagore, was adopted by the Constituent Assembly as the National Anthem of India on 24th January, 1950. It was first sung on 27 December, 1911 at the Calcutta Session of the Indian National Congress. While the complete song consists of five stanzas, the first stanza constitutes the full version of the National Anthem. It reads:

" Jana-gana-mana-adhinaayaka, jaya he
Draavida-Utkala -Banga Vindhya-Himaachala-Yamunaa-Gangaa
Tava shubha naame jaage
Tava shubha ashisha maange
Gaaye tava jaya gaatha
Jana-gana-mangala-daayaka jaya he
Jaya he, jaya he, jaya he
Jaya jaya, jaya, jaya he!! "

The following is Tagore's English rendering of the stanza: "Thou art the ruler of the minds of all people, dispenser of India's destiny. Thy name rouses the hearts of Punjab, Sindh, Gujarat and Maratha, of the Dravida and Orissa and Bengal it echoes in the hills of the Vindhyas and Himalayas, Mingles in the music of Jamuna and Ganges and is chanted by the waves of the Indian Sea. They pray for thy blessings and sing thy praise. The saving of all people waits in thy hand, thou dispenser of India's destiny victory, victory, victory, victory to thee." Playing time of the full version of the National Anthem is approximately 52 seconds.

© 2000 - 2009 All rights reserved